The Psychology Graduate Students Organization (PGSO) is a group designed to support the academic and social experience of everyone in the University of Chicago Psychology Department.

The organization was initially formed in 1991 to help foster professional and social relationships amongst students as well as between students and faculty. All psychology graduate students are welcome to attend PGSO's quarterly meetings and participate in all of our events.

Officers 2017-18:

President: Cristina Carrazza
Treasurer: Maddy Oswald
Secretary: Freddy Rockwood


Academic and Career Development Committee: Jimmy Waller, Nicole Hakim, Colin Quirk

The Academic Life Committee’s purpose is to address issues in student academic life, both those identified by students as well as by faculty. We hope to foster change in the department by improving communication about academic issues both among students, and between students and faculty through quarterly meetings. The Professional Development Committee is generally responsible for spearheading efforts to bring information about career options/training to students. This can be in the form of Student-Faculty events, training workshops, external speakers, and reception events following the department's colloquia.

Social Committee: Jenny Lu, Andrew Sheriff, Freddy Rockwood

Diversity Committee: Carlos Cardenas-Iniguez, Cristina Carrazza, Jalisha Braxton, JP Riggle

The Diversity Committee’s purpose is to promote initiatives that address topics impacting the graduate student experience, but may not be covered by efforts promoting academic/professional development such as (but not limited to) race, gender, religion and sexual orientation.

Mentorship Coordinator: Ella Hirsch

Health and Wellness Committee: Kim Lewis Meidenbauer, Julianne Herts, Mika Armenta, Maddy Oswald

This committee will organize events and provide information about physical and mental wellness resources at the University. The committee also oversees the PGSO intramurals team.